Technique Summer 2018

When the sun’s out and a season of holidays, festivals, and general good times stretches lazily out in front of you, there’s only one thing required to complete the picture. And that’s a drum ‘n’ bass soundtrack, ideally curated by some of the most respected tastemakers in the scene. Lucky us, then. Drumsound & Bassline Smith are back with Technique Summer 2018, a compilation stacked with the full three-sixty of DnB.

Of course, the label bosses themselves treat us to a couple of choice cuts from their studio. There’s the epically atmospheric I Want Your Love, and you’ve probably already heard the militant jazz-tech of The Hustler scything through a rave.

Then there’s Technique’s roll-call of soldiers. From the intimate and emotive sounds of Tapolsky & VovKING, via a minimal roller from Kronology and a sunlit take on Gradual’s sound, onto the main stage fireworks of L Plus and Tantrum Desire’s contributions, and the unshakably individual MaxNRG, we’ve got every piece in the jigsaw.

Document One fans will be buzzing for Uh Huh VIP, while recent signings No Concept show what they can do with two different takes on Silhouette. T-Phonic & Deadman come correct with the Time Travel, while Deadman (now known as Al Storm) gives us two versions of the house-influenced Always There. And we’re yet to discuss the guest contributions from a huge range of disparate artists.

Aquasky and North Base make return appearances to the Technique banner, there’s the legend that is DJ SS, and Multifunction boss Levela delivers his debut for the label. The explosive euphoria of Smooth’s All Over the World was a crowd favourite since it dropped as an album sampler, and, similarly, names like NC-17, Dave Owen, and Muffler need no introduction.

You only have to glance down the list of thirty-six tracks on this album and the eye-watering array of artists assembled for this project to see the love that Drumsound & Bassline Smith have put into compiling it. Names range from undisputed institutions of DnB to relative newcomers, with music touching every corner of the scene.

This is a summer album, sure, but it’s also a 2018 DnB album demonstrating the strength, breadth and depth this music has to offer. The sun’s come out and the heat has arrived.


  1. No Concept – Silhouette feat. Charlotte Haining (5am Mix)
  2. L Plus – Hypnotize
  3. Smooth – All Over the World
  4. Tantrum Desire – Lost in the Night
  5. Pluton & Skyer – Path to Immersion
  6. Hillsdom – Black Magic
  7. T-Phonic & Deadman – Time Travel
  8. Drumsound & Bassline Smith – I Want Your Love
  9. DJ SS – The Oceanfloor
  10. Gradual – Blue Sky
  11. Drumsound & Bassline Smith – The Hustler
  12. Tapolsky & VovKING – You
  13. Muffler – Stardust
  14. NC-17 x Dave Owen – Brooklyn Stomp
  15. Kronology – Salem
  16. Document One – Uh Huh VIP
  17. North Base – Noisey Places
  18. Deuce & Charger – Diamonds
  19. TBase – That is All Gone Now feat. Jess
  20. Conspire – Harlem Mood
  21. Goodfella – Bad Boy
  22. MaxNRG – That Was All Lies
  23. Aquasky – Waterfalls
  24. HighRoll – Heat
  25. Salaryman & Veak – When the Sun Goes Down
  26. Covert Garden – Argonaut
  27. Levela – Tribal Funk
  28. Al Storm – Always There (Summer Mix)
  29. Stereotype – Sign Language feat. Chan Av
  30. Living Plastic – Back for More
  31. FareWell & Marvel Cinema – Halflight
  32. Canyon – Dreams
  33. Smartech – Let the Fire Out

BONUS: Al Storm – Always There (Rave Mix)
BONUS: No Concept – Silhouette feat. Charlotte Haining

Buy Technique Summer 2018 now